top of page

Day 35: A Closer Look at the Shoes You Walk In

7 miles, 50:33 - 7:13 pace (7:53, 7:14, 7:12, 6:59, 7:01, 7:05, 7:07)

Felt smooth, but held back because my ankle hurt a lot when I walked around yesterday. I'm pretty sure it's the shoes I wear. Between doing the tourist thing in San Francisco over the weekend and Universal Studios on Tuesday, I've done plenty of walking in them and my feet have paid the price.

Do you ever think about the shoes you wear when you're not running? I haven't put much thought into it, but the reality is you spend far more hours in them then your running shoes and likely put in several miles throughout the day. I realize my shoes have no support, and I'm pretty sure my tendonitis-like pain right about my ankle is due to them. I'll surely be replacing them soon. Luckily, my running shoes provide much more support, so it didn't hurt when I ran.

Today marks the end of week 5. It was marred by the ankle setback, but here are the numbers:

Week 5 total mileage = 26 miles in 4 days (6.5 miles per day)

I passed on my first tempo run this week due to the setback, but look forward to doing my first during the middle of next week.


Recent post

bottom of page