top of page

Day 48: Solid Progress

6 miles, 46:31 - 7:45 pace (8;18, 7:58, 7:47, 7:31, 7:26, 7:32)

When I woke up this morning, I had reservations about going out for this run. I had to determine whether these thoughts came from a true desire to recover or if they were quite simply excuses to be lazy.

My first thought was I'd be better off running in the evening, when the weather would be warmer and my back would have had a chance to loosen up. But then I remembered I'm going to a Dodger game this evening, so I figured it's now or never.

I decided I'd give it a try, considering I could always abort if things went south. My first half mile was better than Monday's, so at least that was something. After a good stretch, I started up again a little looser than before. As the run went on, I started feeling better, but couldn't comforably hit my usual pace. The plan was to shoot for 5 miles, but then the back started letting up and my mind wandered. The next thing I knew I was over 2.5 miles into it and it was 6 miles or bust.

Although I was aware of a discomfort the entire time, I reached a point where I felt smooth enough that if felt like a run, rather than a chore. I also noticed, rather than the previous pain that spread throughout many parts of my core, this discomfort this morning was more concentrated near the left side toward my hip. That gives me some comfort, so I know where to focus my treament efforts.

All things said, this morning was definitely a step in the right direction.

Recent post

bottom of page