top of page

Day 1: The First Step


First run completed on May 1:

5 miles in 36:45 (7:21 pace) Splits: 7:46, 7:33, 7:12, 7:04, 7:11

The reason I record my split times is because I want to show the importance of starting off slow in a distance run. Doing so gives your body ample time to warm up and assure you finish feeling strong as opposed to crashing and burning halfway through the run.

Certainly, nothing stellar but I was happy I stayed in control, started slow, and gradually picked it up as I went along. By the end of the run, the heat was getting to me, but I still finished fairly strong. I feel I put myself in a position to come back just as strong or even stronger tomorrow, and that's the goal at this point.

Stretched well before and after and hydrated a ton after. That's key for my longevity.

What I tell others (and in this case myself) when they are just starting out, give it two weeks and you'll start to feel a lot better.

Recent post

bottom of page