top of page

Day 9: Run with Robert

6 miles, 44:21 - 7:24 pace (8:01, 7:26, 7;11, 7;10, 7:09, 7:25)

Ran with my friend Robert Hammell whom I hadn't seen in a long time. It was great talking with him, catching up, and seeing that he's run himself into good shape this track season.

We ran at Griffith Park starting on the horse bridge by the stables. We ran a mile warm up and did 6 miles total out and back on the flat Griffith Park trail. It was good for me to get off the concrete and onto the softer dirt surface. I should try to do this more often, but it requires a bit of a drive to do so.

I was scheduled to do my 7 mile long run today, but I decided to run with Robert instead. I'll reschedule my long run for Monday, because tomorrow i plan on taking the day off for Mother's Day.

Add on:

This afternoon, I took advantage of my last opportunity to watch Greg Dotson race. I coached Greg when he was in high school from 2006-2010. He broke the Burbank High school record in the 800 with a time of in the 1:49.40 and finished second in the California State Meet. He also had a 4:11 personal best in the 1600. He earned a scholarship to UCSB and has been running for them since.

His senior year is winding down, and today he had a tune up meet at Occidental College a week prior to the Big West Finals. Greg finished 4th in a time of 1:51.1. He would have liked to do a little better, but he said next week at conference is the time to really shine. Once that's behind him, graudation is on the horizon mid June. Getting that degree is what I'm most proud of him for! Greg, it's been a pleasure.

Recent post

bottom of page