top of page

Day 14: One of Those SURPRISING Days

7 miles, 6:54 pace (7:28, 7:01, 6:49, 6:37, 6:45, 6:54, 6:42)

You know the feeling; the alarm goes off and the last thing you want to do is get out of bed, much less go for a run.

After getting to bed late last night, and having many pressing things to attend to today, it felt the easiest, most logical thing to do would be to roll back over and get a little more sleep to be well rested for the day ahead. But sometimes the easiest choice or even the most logical choice isn't the right one.

I scraped myself out of bed and told myself, "Just get through this one," while I fought off that inner voice that asked, "How can you keep this up for the entire summer?" by muffling it with the simple mantra, "One day at a time."

To my surprise, this was the best run I've had since starting back up. Not just because of the fast mile splits, but it's the closest to that "smooth" feeling that I've felt. My back tightness was considerably improved, and that's without heating it last time. I think the extra stretching is starting to pay off.

I probably overdid it a bit in the early to mid miles, struggling to control my excitment over feeling so good. Also, my stomach hurt on and off the last 2 miles and I had a mild side ache. I most likely attribute this to my late night microwave dinner and probably a bit of dehydration. Something to work.

Moral for today: Get out of bed and run because you never know what awaits you.

Recent post

bottom of page