top of page

Day 20: Running SMOOTH


8 miles, 54:27 - 6:48 pace (7:47, 6:56, 6:52, 6:34, 6:26, 6:36, 6:37, 6:41)

I'll have to admit I had some apprehsion going into this run. Yesterday, was a great run with Elliot, but it also tied my longest run and at the fastest pace yet, all while on a hillier course. Though that run is a great sign I'm heading in the right direction, I wondered how I would feel on this morning's run.

To prepare myself for this, I heated my back and left hip last night and did some deep stretching before going to bed. The result - SMOOTH RUNNING!

As you can see from my above pace, I ran much faster than my previous runs. The reason is clear. With my back looser, I ran smoother and faster.

Now, I must proceed with caution. Just as I've been cautious to slowly build my mileage, I have to do the same with my intensity. If I keep up this rapid increase in pace, I will likely crash a month or so down the road. Tomorrow I'll be sure to back off, because it looks like this week's long run is going to be on Friday, and considering the guys I plan on running it with, it's not going to be easy.

For those of you not experiencing this "smoothness" yet or not seeing this rapid progression in your fitness, please be patient and trust me it will come. Remember I've been doing this for over 20 years, so my muscle memory kicks in and allows me to get in shape rather fast. Look for

progress from week to week, even if it is small. Over the course of 4 months it accumulates, and when the big day comes around, YOU WILL BE READY!

Recent post

bottom of page