top of page

Day 41: First Tempo Run

7 miles, 1 mile warm up (8:18), 4 strides, 5 mile tempo run (32:54 - 6:13, 6:15, 6:20, 6:45, 7:22), 1 mile cool down (8:56)

A tempo run (also called a steady state or threshold run) is a run meant to be done at a pace 30-60 seconds faster than your goal marathon pace, depending on its length and where you are in your training cycle. The goal is to run fast but relaxed enough to where you're not in oxygen debt. The pace shouldn't be conversational, but you should be able to talk if you wanted to.

The tempo run is my favorite workout, and I feel - along with the long run - the most essential at preparing you to reach your marathon goal by giving you an accurate gauge to determine your training progress and what you're capable of achieving in the marathon.

Originally, my first tempo run was planned for last week, but due to the calf setback, I decided it to postpone it until today. I had been looking forward to this all week. That feeling of the wind rushing through my hair, my legs effortlessly striding across the ground, and the sweat gently dripping of my brow. My cadence and my breathing all in sycn with the pain registering a minimum, while I clip off one mile after the next at my desired pace.

Unfortunatly, I experienced none of this today. From the warm up, I felt stiff and slow. After stretching and doing strides, I loosened up a bit, but didn't feel like I hoped I would. The opening 2 miles were run on pace, but lacked the smooth feeling I covet in a tempo run. The third mile fell a little off pace, but my effort level and pain were both wayt too high. By mile 3 1/2, I abandoned my time goal and instead focused on proper form and just keepinga respectable pace. Soon after mile 4 all hope was gone, and I fell into survival mode.

It certainly wasn't what I hoped for; in fact, it was my worst run in the last 41 days. But rather than whine and complain or throw a tantrum or lose all confidence, it's important to consider the reason why this workout may have gone wrong, so as not to repeat it. Keep in mind, these aren't excuses but assessments made for the purpose of improvement.

Maybe I set my expectations too high for a first tempo run and should have considered the "rust factor" that comes with the initial tempo run of the training cycle.

Maybe I shouldn't run with Elliot the day before my tempo run, as it is one of my hardest 3 runs a week (along with my tempo and long run)

Maybe I should have warmed up an extra mile when I noticed I was especially stiff.

Maybe I should have gone out slower than my goal pace (6:10-6:15) and gradually picked it up if I felt better.

Maybe it was the humidity that got to me, even though I hydrated adequately.

Maybe I need to be more diligent with heating my lower back at night because that was my biggest problem area this morning.

I definitely shouldn't have left the house without my pre-workout banana (I rookie mistake I won't repeat)

Maybe it was "just one of those days." (Usually, though, you can find a more logical reason behind a bad workout.

I will definitely consider these factors an come back next week with an improved effort because previous runs have suggested I'm way better than this.

Recent post

bottom of page