top of page

Day 11: "Long Run"


7 miles, 49:22 - 7:03 pace (7:33, 7:07, 7:04, 6:53, 6:49, 7:02, 6:53)

Lesson of the day: Outhouses are cleanest early Monday morning.

I put "Long Run" in quotes because a long run should be considerably longer than your typical weekly runs. It should equal 20-30% of your total mileage for the week and act as a dress rehearsal for your race. This run accomplished none of those, but it is my longest run of the week, so I'll refer to it as my "long run." I'm not going to worry about my "long runs" becoming legitimate long runs until after 4 weeks into my training. More about run longs then.

I need to continue to focus on my stretching and flexibility. I can tell I'm getting in good shape, but my lower back, hips, and hammys are so stiff they are preventing me from running comfortably at sub 7 pace. I know flexibility is at least partially at fault, but I wonder if the early morning runs play a part as well.

Recent post

bottom of page