top of page

Day 43: The Lonely, Isolated Distance Runner


7 miles, 49:38 - 7:06 pace (7:51, 7:12, 7:03, 6:50, 6:54, 7:01, 6:48)

Great run! Ran much smoother and faster than yesterday. It was everything I hoped it would be and served as the pefect transition to tomorrow's long run, which I know have confidence I'll be able to do.

Below are some thoughts I scrapped together during today's run that I turned into a short story.

The Lonely, Isolated Distance Runner

Distance running at its core is an isolated endeavor. When you step out the door, it's just you, the road, and the miles that stand between you and the finish. Sure, there are training partners and even running clubs to make it a more social activity, but finding one that shares your same pace, schedule, and proximity can be more daunting than finding your soulmate. So more often than not, we hit the streets alone to embark on the task we so deeply love.

For many, myself included, the hour of isolation is a nice change of pace. It's a good chance for me to spend quality time with myself. I can organize my plans for the day, reminisce on fond memories, and come up with ideas - like the one for this story.

Still, every so often, while running down the streets or on my trusty bike path, I get lonely and seek the basic social interaction of others. Sadly, I find more often than not that this modest desire goes unfulfilled. As others run, walk, or ride by, my attempts to make eye contact and exchange a friendly "hello" so often fall short, leaving me to wonder what is so repellent about me. Or am I just reaching out to the wrong people?

The following is the top 10 types of people most likely to stonewall my friendly greetings:

10. People walking their dogs - They have this defensive scowl that says, "If you so much as look at me, I'll sic her on you."

9. Walkers - They seem to be intimidated by my pace. They would no sooner make eye contact with me than I would with the guy benching 300 pounds at the gym.

8. Mail Carriers - They appear too miserable to offer me a smile and a hello.

7. People running with others - Two's company, three's a crowd. You can bet this outsider won't be given the time of day.

6. People who look down when they run - These odd creatures don't even know I'm there.

5. Cyclists - In their eyes, I'm nothing more than potential road kill.

4. People walking their bikes - I see this type at least once a week, and clearly they have bigger issues than shooting me a nod.

3. Runners going hard - They are too out of breath and in pain to bother with me.

2. Runners wearing ear buds - These people have shut out the world around them. I've learned better than to even try with these introverts.

1. Any combination of the above - No chance!

Unfortunately, this covers just about everyone, but luckily there are exceptions to the rules. Every once in a while my friendly gesture will be reciprocated, or more rarely, one will be initiated toward me. It's nice validation that I'm neither invisible, dangerous, nor too repulsive to look at.

As I weave through the shunnings, the evasions, and the blank stares of another morning run, I eventually approach my front yard and my hour of isolation comes to an end. I'm quickly whisked into my daily routine and enter another world, one consisting of traffic, loud noises, and the general overcrowded nature of Los Angeles. I suddenly yearn for my next hour of isolation.

Recent post

bottom of page